Ukemi Waza (Breakfall techniques) are used to soften the landing impact after being thrown. These are one of the first techniques taught to a beginner in Judo to enable them to safely fall in a controlled manner which protects them.

Launceston Judo Throws

Judo techniques are divided into three major categories: Nage waza (throwing techniques), Katame waza (grappling techniques), and Atemi waza (vital-point striking techniques). Atemi waza is only taught and studied through kata. There are 100 techniques officially recognised by the Kodokan Judo Institute, 68 Nage-waza and 32 Katame-waza. The names of these 100 Judo techniques can be found on the official Kodakan website here.

Judo Throws

Nage waza are many and varied, their purpose being to unbalance an opponent’s posture and throw the opponent to the ground.

Katame waza is the general name for hold-downs, strangles, and joint and other locks used in grappling. Since 1st April 2017, katame-waza is divided in osaekomi-waza (10 pinning techniques), shime-waza (12 strangling techniques) and kansetsu-waza (10 joint techniques).

Launceston Judo katame waza
Kodokan kata

Kata, which literally means “form” is practiced following a formal system of prearranged techniques. Through Kata practice, Judoka learn the principles of techniques.

This kata was created by the Kodokan Judo Institute in cooperation with the International Judo Federation (IJF) and the French Judo Federation to help children learn the basics of judo in a safe and systematic manner.

Launceston Judo Kodomo no kata