(Hold Down Techniques)

These are techniques used to pin a supine opponent to the mat, generally from the side or diagonally, to inhibit their freedom of movement and prevent them from rising. Since the 1st April, 2017 there are ten official osaekomi-waza recognised by the Kokokan.

1. Kesa-gatame (袈裟固) (Scarf hold)

2. Kazure-kesa-gatame (崩袈裟固) (Broken scarf hold)

3. Ushiro-kesa-gatame (後袈裟固) (Backwards scarf hold)

4. Kata-gatame (肩固) (Shoulder hold)

5. Kami-shiho-gatame (上四方固) (Upper four quarter hold)

6. Kuzure-kami-shiho-gatame (崩上四方固) (Broken upper four quarter hold)

7. Yoko-shiho-gatame (横四方固) (Side four quarter hold)

8. Tate-shiho-gatame (縦四方固) (Vertical four quarter hold)

9. Uki-gatame (浮固) (Floating hold)

10. Ura-gatame (裏固) (Rear hold)