Nage Waza

Launceston Judo Throw

Since 1st April 2017 the Kodokan nage waza includes 68 official throwing techniques and is divided in tachi-waza (standing techniques) and sutemi-waza (sacrifice techniques). Tachi-waza includes te-waza (16 hand techniques), koshi-waza (10 hip techniques) and ashi-waza (21 foot and leg techniques). Sutemi-waza includes ma-sutemi-waza (5 supine or rear sacrifice techniques) and yoko-sutemi-waza (16 side sacrifice techniques).

Although the hands, hips, and feet are used in all these techniques, the technique names are taken from the body part or action which is central to the motion.

Go Kyo No Waza

The Gokyo no Waza (five sets of techniques) is the standard syllabus of Judo throwing techniques that originated in 1895 at the Kodokan in Tokyo, Japan. The Gokyo no Waza was revised in 1920 and is made up of 40 throws in 5 groups as shown here.

Habukareta No Waza (Old Preserved Waza)


Shimmeisho No Waza (New Waza)​

In 1982 on the 100th anniversary of the Kokokan, eight traditional throws that were originally part of the Gokyo no Waza that was devised in 1895 were reinstated. These eight reinstated throws are the Habukareta no Waza (old preserved techniques). A number of additional newer techniques, that were not part of the original Gokyo no Waza were also recognised. These are known as the Shimmeisho no Waza (new techniques). There are currently twenty Shimmeisho no Waza.